Damn you Del Toro! Damn you and your teasing ways! I had only just gotten over the disappointment of your production of At the Mountains of Madness being shelved following the release of the appalling Prometheus and now you’re teasing us with the prospect that the film may yet see the light of day!

Last night the folks over at the Lovecraft Ezine discussed the pros and cons of the film being released as a PG-13. It seems that one of the main stumbling blocks to the film being green lit a couple of years ago was that Del Toro was adamant he wanted an R rating and the studio weren’t keen to throw money at a film with a restricted audience. According to Mike during the Ezine video chat there were quite a lot of Lovecraft fans that were upset with this change to being willing to make the film as a PG-13. Some accused Del Toro of caving to the studios demands. To be honest I was slightly disappointed as well given that it’s a horror film and should probably be an 18/R rated film. That disappointed was, however, considerably outweighed by just how excited I am that the film may be made at all!

Now being a Brit I’m not especially au-fait with the American movie certification system and the idea of a horror film being rated PG-13 does strike me as rather odd. PG-13 sounds, to me, like the British classification ’12’. Not what I would expect of a proper horror film. I was therefore rather surprised when I googled a list of PG-13 rated horror films and found that there are quite a number of really, really good horror films with this classification. Films like Ringu, Ju-on, Chakushin ari, and Låt den rätte komma in all have PG-13 ratings in the US(15 in the UK) and so I’m more than happy if At the Mountains of Madness gets a PG-13 certificate.

Pete Rawlik also pointed out that it is perfectly possible for Del Toro to film the scenes that would have pushed the movie up into an R rating and to only include those in an unrated ‘Directors Cut’ version on the DVD/Blue Ray release. Something that would also make me very, very happy. 🙂

Anyway, here’s the video chat with Mike Davis, Pete Rawlik, and Rick Lai from last night. And if you haven’t already read At the Mountains of Madness go here and grab yourself a copy for free.

4 thoughts on “At the Mountains of PG-13

  1. I actually appreciate the fact that there have been so many good PG-13 horror flicks of late. (Even Del Toro’s “Mama” from last year.) This suits me just fine because I don’t care for too much nudity or gore, I just want a movie to scare me. I feel like making a PG-13 horror film puts more pressure on the filmmakers to make a film that’s actually frightening and not just sick. Of course, there are bad PG-13 horror flicks out there, but there ‘s plenty of bad R-rated ones too, so it ‘s not like being rated R will automatically make a film “better.” Also, the PG-13 thing would be good for this film in particular because (1) younger teenagers would be able to see it in theaters without adult supervision, which would make young teenage fans of Lovecraft happy and potentially earn much more money for the film, and (2) I’m really tired of people making really gross films based on Lovecraft stories. There was never anything gory or gross like that in the original stories, and Lovecraft himself would turn in his grave if he could see things like “Re-Animator” or “From Beyond.” That stuff isn’t scary, it’s just gross, and I would prefer that not be the case with this film (if it’s ever actually made). Anyway , that’s just what I think.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I totally agree. All of the films that have come close to having a true cosmic horror vibe have shied away from being gorefests. I’m thinking films like In the Mouth of Madness, Absentia, and so on.

      Like

Ácwiðe!

