Shouldn’t it be InaNoWriMo really?

I’ve decided to give NaNoWriMo a go this year and use it as a bit of a fun way to drive myself through the first draft of a story idea I’ve been kicking around for a year or so now. The story is, mostly, set in Glasgow and focusses on a young, working class, single mother. She experiences a tragic encounter with the supernatural and finds herself struggling both with the aftermath of the tragedy, the supernatural forces behind it and her own position as a proletarian woman. Kinda like a blend of traditional Cosmic Horror, New Weird and just a dash of Social(ist) Realism. 🙂

I’ve been thinking of it as a series of three novellas which can either stand alone or be stitched together as a longer narrative. This will be part one of Marie’s Story.

I’ve set up a word count tracker in the left hand sidebar to try and egg me on to get my daily count done. Should be fun.

nanowrimo-nov03-2012

Ácwiðe!

