Aw B******s

Well, that went well didn’t it? I’m referring, of course, to the vote for Scottish independence that happened last Thursday. For months I had refused to allow myself to become optimistic but as we entered the final week before the vote it seemed like thing might go the way I hoped. 97% of people registered to vote which I took to be a good sign surely people weren’t going to go to such an effort to maintain the status quo? Especially when that status quo is responsible for devastating poverty, people starving to death or killing themselves as a direct result of the attacks carried out by the state upon the poorest and most vulnerable in our society rather than simply a large number of 3 chord pop-rock songs. It seems that I was wrong about that.

It’s saddening, it really is. There is some hope though. 45%(ish) voted yes to independence and that’s a hell of a result considering that the full weight of the British media and state was behind Project Fear, the No Campaign, in spreading lies and misinformation.

The other really saddening thing is that the optimism and joy of the yes campaign has been trumped by the mean, cold, and horrible ugliness of British Loyalism. Compare the scenes below.

YES-George-Sq YES-George-Sq-2 No-George Sq No-George Sq-2

 

In the top two images we see people involved in the Yes campaign on the day of the vote. Partying and celebrating. Below we see the ugly scenes as British loyalists came to ‘celebrate’ the No campaign victory with violence and bigotry. Look at these fuds abusing a Glaswegian councillor outside the council offices on Friday as they flocked to George Square to cause trouble. Rule Britannia, Britons always, always, always will be slaves.

Still, at least there is the possibility of another referendum at some point in the future. Though I’m certain that Westminster will have stitched things up by then to ensure Scotland’s continued poverty either way. I love Scotland, I really do. I’ve lived here for over a decade and I’ve been, for the most part, happy as larry. Now however I’m seriously considering leaving. Not just Scotland but the UK entirely. There are far better places to live and raise a family, we just have to decide which one to flee to. Operation Sinking Ship starts now.

2 thoughts on “Aw B******s

  1. I’m very sorry to hear about this. I have no concept of what life in such a political atmosphere must be like, so I can’t really comment that much. But for what it’s worth, I’m genuinely impressed with the voter turnout. Over here in the U.S. we have an ongoing problem with voter apathy, even in issues where the stakes are quite high. I don’t know if I’d recommend that you take your family here or not, but Canada might be a good option.

    Liked by 1 person

Ácwiðe!

