Yes/No/Maybe

I’ve been seeing yet more bizarre arguments against voting in the upcoming referendum, or voting No recently. I’ve seen Labour Party stalwarts making claims that it’s all about Alex Salmond and the SNP, then they’re saying that Scotland won’t get the oil money as it all belongs to multinational corporations(I think with that one they’re not quite getting the concept of oil revenue tax), that’s it’s nationalism and -from the more traditional Labour Party types and others on the actual left that it will be dividing the working class and thus weakening us. Scare mongering nonsense the lot of it.

First off. I’m voting yes on the 18th. I’m fairly hard-line in my politics. I abhor nationalism, I detest representative democracy(on the grounds that it isn’t actually democratic), I want to see a world freed from the shackles of capitalism and the iniquities of a stratified class society, and I think Alex Salmond and the SNP can go jump off a bridge. Yet I’m voting yes so am I wrong or are they?

With regards the accusation of nationalism that’s patently absurd. A large proportion of my friends in Scotland were born elsewhere and I myself am Welsh. Yet we are all voting yes. To not vote yes, to vote no, is a vote for British nationalism and all the horrors and injustices that are draped in the blood stained rag they call the Union Flag. It’s a weird argument from the Labourites that a vote for independence is a vote for nationalism when what they are advocating is to remain with a form of nationalism that a) has a long and sordid history of bloodshed and terror and b) has been growing more and more extreme over the last decade or so -as evidenced in the rise of UKIP/Britain First/English Defence League and the hero-worship of the military with Help for Heroes and Armed Forces Day. Maybe they are thinking “better the devil you know”? Perhaps, but when that devil  has such a horrendous history I think that argument can f*%ck right off.

The more serious accusation, the weakening of the working class of the UK, is just as absurd. In the event of a yes vote there will be absolutely nothing preventing workers from organising in solidarity with one another. Many of the same companies will be operating in both a newly independent Scotland and the rUK and so workers will be able to strike and picket in solidarity with one another regardless. If these people were truly in favour of strengthening the working class of Great Britain then they would be pushing for industrial unionism through the IWW rather than the toothless, insipid trade union movement.

Another bizarre criticism that I have seen coming from the actual left is that voting yes is “not a revolutionary action”. Well, you know what? Not everything is. Not every political activity is revolutionary and nor does it have to be. Voting yes in the referendum is no different from crossing the road when you see a gang of known street robbers on the next corner. Sure, someone else may mug you on the other side but it would be foolish to carry on towards the bampots you know are going to rob you and leave you bleeding on the pavement.

Right, that’s my last political rant until my hangover of th 19/20th has cleared.

 

Also, because fuck this lot.

Ácwiðe!

