A Day Off!

Three actually. In a row! I’ve not had a day off work since June 12th and now I have three of them! Wahey! I can read, I can write. Oh me oh my do I feel good. 😀

But what to read? I’ve got one hell of a backlog that has built up over the last year or so what with university, dissertation, and work. My present backlog looks a little like this, since you asked. Which you didn’t but this is it anyway.

To Finish: This is all short stories. I tend to take a collection with me to read during my commute as the 20-30 minutes on the train is normally just about right to get through a story.

The Weird – edited by Ann & Jeff Vandermeer

The Dark Domain – Stefan Grabinski

The Bloody Chamber – Angela Carter

American Supernatural Tales – edited by S.T. Joshi

To Read: Books that I haven’t had the chance to dip into yet but am chomping at the bit to devour. 🙂

The Spectral Link – Thomas Ligotti

The Grimscribe’s Puppets – edited by Joe Pulver

Celebrant – Michael Cisco

Deadtown Abbey – Sean Hoade

The Beautiful Thing That Awaits Us All – Laird Barron

I also need to be writing. Currently I have a cosmic horror story set amongst the Caledonii of Iron Age Scotland, and a post-apocalyptic Lovecraftian tale on the go. I also really need to get some more blog post writing done. On that front you can expect my half arsed attempt at an analysis of Ligotti’s Our Temporary Supervisor – which is, beyond a doubt, my favourite story from the Grimscribe himself.

So, until next time. Stay weird. 😀

 

PS: Also; BIG congratulations to Joe Pulver who’s anthology The Grimscribe’s Puppets won the Shirley Jackson award for best anthology! WAHEY!

grimscribe

Ácwiðe!

