Ex-Student

I finished my final exams this Friday past. Two on one day! If anyone reading this is ever in a position to be organising an exams time table. Don’t do that. It’s not very nice. It really isn’t. 😥 But still, I prevailed and I think I actually did rather well, though we’ll see when the results come back in a couple of weeks.

It’s strange this being an ex-student. I wonder if I’m allowed to go back to using the word ‘student’ as an insult or whether I am forever tainted for having had the temerity to go and hide in academic study for a few years whilst the economy performed a graceful swan dive into a black tar filled pit? According to Paul Calf, who I highly doubt anyone can remember any more, I’m probably forever marked. My soul is stained with the darkness of academic rigour and generally interesting things. 😀

I’m glad to be finished but I am going to miss having access to online journals. I really am. 😦 And not even just the ones related to archaeology, I’ve really enjoyed being able to dip in and out of other disciplines. It’s a crime that academic journals cost so much to subscribe to. Jstor is at the borderline of affordable but the knowledge contained in the academic world really should be accessible for all, for free. The vast majority of the research is funded, directly or otherwise, by taxes and so tax payer should have a right to access it. Grrrrr. 😡

 

Ácwiðe!

