I just spent today writing a 4,000 word essay on the causes of the Late Bronze Age collapse and making comparisons with the situation in which we find ourselves. Pretty grim stuff to tell the truth(I’ll post it on here once it’s marked if you ask nicely) and I feel pretty frazzled after a mad 12 hour stint at the keyboard. I was quite chuffed to be able to use an unpublished report that analyses the propensity for social collapse in various types of society, unequal, equal, and egalitarian, and thought that that made grim enough reading. I was careful to err on the side of caution and didn’t slip into typing WE’RE FUCKED over and over again in FULLCAPS. Then I saw this and realised I probably should have FULLCAPS’d the whole essay.

See, I was involved in the late 90s/early 00s environmental protest movement here in the UK and after the best part of a decade I just sort of gave up, realising that without massive social change there was little hope of averting catastrophe. It really sucks to be proven right sometimes. 😦

Makes books like this make a hell of a lot of sense now…

 

Ácwiðe!

